International Yacht Training Worldwide

Superyacht Training


Many years ago, IYT identified the need for a standardised approach to yacht training globally, and the company has successfully established a partnership programme offering IYT courses to students through a network of high quality international training providers.

The company offers courses for the professional Superyacht industry from interior and deck crew, to Master of Yachts 200 Tons Unlimited. IYT can help you to achieve the necessary qualifications required for an exciting career in the Superyacht industry.

Many IYT qualification’s are accepted around the globe, and unlike other training organisations, IYT insists on an understanding of IALA Regulations Areas A & B, weather systems and tidal calculations in the North & Southern hemispheres, and the effects of tropical revolving storms.

The IYT Master of Yachts – Overview

The IYT Master of Yachts (MOY) courses are professional courses for those who wish to work in the Superyacht industry. They are approved and accepted by a number of global administrations including the British Maritime and Coastguard Agency (MCA), for use on Red Ensign commercial and privately registered power and sailing vessels. This certification is is of vital importance because it is an established and globally recognised standard of competency.

The MCA were the first administration to recognise professional yachting as a career, and  many years ago introduced the “Code of Practice for Commercial Yachts and Sail Training Vessels.”.  The “Code of Practice” has now become the industry’s “standard” for Superyachts and has since been replicated by other administrations.

In May 1997, the MCA evaluated IYT’s Master of Yachts courses and determined that they met the high standard of excellence required for crew working on Red Ensign vessels. Since then, other administrations have also approved the IYT courses.

For those seeking a career in professional yachting, you will also be required to complete Basic Safety Training courses as laid down by the International Maritime Organisation (IMO) , STCW convention. (STCW stands for the Standards of Training and Certification of Watchkeepers) .

There are three levels of IYT Master of Yachts Certification and all students are required  to comply with the STCW ’95 Regulations VI/1 Sections VI/1-4.

  1. Master of Yachts Coastal/Mate 200 tons
  2. Master of Yachts 200 Tons Limited
  3. Master of Yachts 200 Tons Unlimited 200

If I obtain a Master of Yachts qualification in what capacity am I qualified to work on board?

Each level of the Master of Yachts certification allows the student to work in various positions on board.

The MCA’s manning scale for motor and sail yachts (below) outlines these positions.

To summarise, IYT qualifications will allow:
  • Master of Yachts Coastal/Mate 200 Tons:
    • Master <24m vessel <60 nm offshore
    • Chief Mate of <500 ton vessel <60 nm offshore
    • Chief Mate of <200 ton vessel <150 nm offshore
  • Master of Yachts Limited 200 Tons:
    • Master of <200 ton vessel <150 nm offshore
    • Chief Mate of <500 ton vessel <150 nm offshore
    • OOW (Officer of the Watch) of <500 ton vessel all oceans
  • Master of Yachts Unlimited 200 Tons:
    • Master of <200 ton vessel all oceans
    • OOW (Officer of the Watch) of <500 ton vessel all oceans

How do I get my IYT Master of Yachts certificate commercially endorsed?

The IYT “Master of Yachts” and the IYT “Small Powerboat & RIB Master” certificates do not require a “commercial endorsement” because they are commercial certificates.

The ‘Yachtmaster” certificates issued by the Royal |Yachting Association (RYA) are recreational certificates that require a “commercial endorsement” if one wishes to work commercially.

The MCA has recognised the following IYT certificates as being “commercial” in their own right:

  • Master of Yachts Coastal/Mate 200 Tons
  • Master of Yachts Limited 200 Tons
  • Master of Yachts Unlimited 200 Tons
  • Small Powerboat & RIB Master

For further information please contact the Maritime & Coastguard Agency (MCA) Seafarers Standard Branch.

What are the advantages of holding an IYT Master of Yachts Certificate?

The IYT Master of Yachts certificates are the most internationally recognised qualifications for yachting worldwide and are currently accepted for commercial use by many different governments. IYT Master of Yachts qualifications are recognised by multiple marine insurance companies and are accepted by yacht charter companies worldwide.

What happens if I am color blind, hearing impaired or have other medical issue?

The MCA are no longer allowing Deckhands, Officers of the Watch, Mates or Masters who have color blindness to hold MCA certification. In the past, those who were diagnosed with color blindness were issued certificates with the endorsement” no solo watch” or “dual watch only”.
Because the IYT/MCA Master of Yachts certificates are commercial in nature, IYT will be complying with the same MCA requirements and will be unable to issue any commercial certificates to those who have color blindness.  It is imperative that students undertake a color blindness test BEFORE they enroll in any IYT/MCA commercial course as we will not be able to certify them.
Also, it is important to note that a ‘lantern test’ for color blindness is no longer accepted.  The test must be an Ishihara or CAD test. 
Those who already hold IYT/MCA commercial certificates with a color blindness endorsement “no solo watch” will be able to renew with the same endorsement”.  

Please note that the MCA will not issue an STCW qualification to candidates who do not pass the “ENG1 Medical Fitness Examination”.  The MCA will not allow you to progress to the OOW or 500 and > Master Certification.

STCW Training Overview

What is STCW?

The “International Convention on Standards of Training & Certification of Watchkeepers (STCW), 1978, set out qualification standards for masters, officers and watch personnel and was adopted by the International Maritime Organization (IMO) in London, and entered into force in 1984. The Convention was significantly amended in 1995, therefore, you will sometimes see it referred to as STCW ’95.

Recent changes to STCW that affect you:

The IMO adopted a new set of amendments in Manila in 2010 called “The Manila Amendments.” These amendments were necessary to keep training standards in line with new technological and operational requirements that require new shipboard competencies. The Manila Amendments were effective as of January 1, 2012.  Implementation is progressive, and every year a modified set of requirements comes into force. The most significant amendments are:

  • New rest hours for seafarers.
  • New grades of certificates of competence for able seaman in both deck and engine.
  • New and updated training, refreshing requirements.
  • Mandatory security training.
  • Additional medical standards.
  • Specific alcohol limits in blood or breath.

This is important for yacht captains and crew because your prior STCW certificates are no longer perpetual. (They all expire).

  • Your perpetual certificates will now expire on December 31, 2016.
  • You must revalidate your certificates and do refresher training. (See courses page for details).